Skip to content

Slut Stampede: The Verdict

May 30, 2011

Despite my earlier skepticism (see GGW Comes to Melbz), SlutWalk Melbourne was wonderful. Over 3,000 people attended, and the event was a massive success because it was less about letting your cooter hang out and more about fighting against sexual assault. It was the perfect antidote to the vagina-hating Congressmen I’ve been reading so much about in recent months, and it made me proud to be surrounded by so many vagina-lovers. Enjoy the photos!

 

That last picture was my favorite sign of the day; it said, “I love riding my bike (coz she always says yes)”. So perfect.

Overall, the vibe at SlutWalk was electric and I’d be happy to see it continue making its way across the globe. It might be a few hundred centuries before we see SlutWalk Baghdad or SlutWalk Tehran, but at least we’re taking some small step in the right direction.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

